Confessions..

Out with it:

Yes, I am overweight obese and my body needs an overhaul, a major overhaul.

Now that I have confessed, let me begin from the beginning. I have been overweight for a long time now. But not any more. Now I am obese 😛 . i delivered my beautiful handsome boy last year and gained a lot of post natum kilos. I could have exercised when I was on leave and with my baby, but my laziness got the better of me. Continuous consumption of food without any exercise kept piling the kilos on my body and I had come to a stage where my body creaked with pain at the slightest possible exertion. It came to a do or “cry” stage. Even simple things like sitting cross legged, or walking a stretch became very tiring or almost impossible. Thats when the realization dawned on me that I had to do something and NOW.

The problem with me is that I am very self conscious(don’t ask me who is not).. I was such a bad case that I would not get up and go to pee if my parents were around. While I became comfortable with getting up and going to the rest room when others realized what I was doing, accepting the fact that I was fat and I needed to do something about it in front of my family(read hubby and in-laws) was very difficult. But then, when things got desperate, I grew up and discussed my health issue with them.

Fast forward to the beginning of this month. For the few days of the week, i did Yoga. What magic! Just coupla days of doing this for about 20 minutes made me feel so much better that I have made a life long commitment to Fitness, in whatever way I can. By walking for 5 mins if not 50, by cycling, by yoga. This is just the beginning and a fit “ME” is a dream , whose reality is miles and miles away, but this time I am ready. Ready to be criticized, ridiculed because I dont do things regularly. Ready to go on, even if the results are slow, ready to do it for no one else but me. I have already faltered, missed doing yoga couple of days. Went walking y’day, but did not go today. But this time I will make it. Because I know my weaknesses and am ready to overcome them. And most importantly, I am going to be easy on myself.

So here’s the deal. I will come back in a week or 10 days and I will update on the progress, not on weight change, but about how regularly I am able to do the “Fitness things” and how is it making me feel.

That’s a promise!

Leave a Reply

